Gone to Coney Island


Coney Island!
The fun!
The excitement!
The beach!
The boardwalk!
The history!

An amusement park full of rides, food and games on the beach?! Really this exists! How cool! I grew up in land-locked middle of the country so this was a big deal to me. I never associated the beach with roller coasters before. Now I am envious of all those that take this for grated! We soaked up every bit of Coney Island and we could even feel the nostalgia of its magical history.
This building captured my imagination instantly. I wasn’t the only one either. Several photographers were positioning themselves for that perfect shot.

Here are some fun facts from Brownstoner.com

Name: Former Child’s Restaurant
Address: 2102 Boardwalk
Cross Streets: West 21st and West 22nd Streets
Neighborhood: Coney Island
Year Built: 1923
Architectural Style: Spanish Baroque Revival
Architect: Dennison & Hirons
Other buildings by architect: Beaux Arts Institute of Design, 304 E. 44th St, Manhattan, Suffolk Guarantee and Title Company Building, Queens, both landmarked.
Landmarked: Yes, Individual landmark, 2003

Coney Island has had many ups and downs over the last decades. So many fabulous buildings cover this historic place. An all-volunteer group, Save Coney Island, is working to protect its place in history. I would not want my children to miss out on the fabulous experience we shared there. I’m ready for a another spin on the Cyclone!

3 thoughts on “Gone to Coney Island

Leave a comment